Wholehearted Habits

Running has taught me a lot about habits and discipline, which today I realized show up in other areas of my life besides running! Go figure 🙂

Wholehearted Habits | the wholehearted wife

This afternoon, I knew I needed to get school work with Elizabeth done and all I could think was “just get out the door” which in terms of running means “put on your shoes and GO, before your brain catches on to what you are doing” and in terms of home school meant, “just sit down, start working, before you decide you are too tired. It will be over before you know it.” And guess what. It always is!

Being fit and running helps with way more than physical health. It keeps me going. It reminds me that excuses are just that – excuses. And if it matters to me, I will make it happen.

Wholehearted Habits | the wholehearted wife

Home school isn’t a quite a habit yet. At least, not like running is. With running, i no longer wake up and think “will I run today?” I know I will run today, because I run everyday. Well, 6 days anyway. But close enough 🙂

With homeschool, it’s still kind of in that “do we need to do school today?” mode, but I’m working toward the “we do school everyday, it’s just our routine” kind of thing. It might not happen over night – I didn’t start running 6 days a week right off the bat, I worked up to it!

Wholehearted Habits | the wholehearted wife

Wholehearted Habits | the wholehearted wife
in case anyone is wondering, the check marks are our daily bible lesson. that piece is pretty dang close to habit by now!

So here’s to working up to it! Establishing the habits, so that the habits work for themselves.

Wholehearted Habits | the wholehearted wife

Thanks running, for teaching me so much about the rest of my life 🙂 And hey, are you on Strava? Come find me!

Wholeheartedly,
Heather

I would love to hear your thoughts, please leave a comment.

